Forums > General > New Year Fitness

NEW YEAR FITNESS
Previous | 12345 | Next

Hi all,

I've decided to get active as i've been particularly sedentary the past few months with work etc. Yesterday i decided to hit the tread mill and did 2 miles. This morning i did 4.5 miles

I really enjoyed it. I want to do it more. Can anyone give advice to an absolute beginner regarding what you need, what to eat etc?

Cheers

--

Do not act as if thou wert going to live ten thousand years. Death hangs over thee. While thou livest, while it is in thy power, be good.

I am starting this as from tomorrow as well, healthy eating and back to the gym 3 or 4 times a week. Although I need to be fit for my job I have done nothing over the last three months of 2012 and I am starting to realise it :(

Diet wise I will be having

Breakfast - porridge

Lunch - jacket potatoe with cicken/tuna

Dinner - chicken/tuna/steak with green vegetables

I will probably take a protein supplement with my breakfast and before bed too , I will also have fruit and nuts to snack if i get hungry between meals.

Training wise it will be mostly cardio but a little bit of weight training. I am lucky enough to work with a semi professional boxer who I can train with which helps me out alot :D

--

New Skool Turbo Power

YouTube Channel

Does decent gear such as shoes help? I've been running in a knackered of old pair of astro Nike total 90s.

They werent too bad just on the treadmill, but i think if i'm going to do it more often i'd like some shoes with a bit more padding.

--

Do not act as if thou wert going to live ten thousand years. Death hangs over thee. While thou livest, while it is in thy power, be good.

Yeah if your going to be doing it a lot I would invest in some decent shoes. A good running shop will be able to help you get the correct shoes for your running style.

--

New Skool Turbo Power

YouTube Channel

Good trainers are essential for avoiding injury - trainers have a useable life of x00 miles.