Forums > General > Is anyone going to buy a Toyota GT86?

IS ANYONE GOING TO BUY A TOYOTA GT86?
Previous | 1234 | Next

Reading through the forum's car plans for this year and couldn't help noticing that the GT86 isn't on anyones wish list. Is the M135i stealing sales with its appealing mix of practicality and performance for only £4k more? Are Toyota selling many at all and if so are they to the under 30s and this forum is full of old farts?

--

My Flickr

Invisible Speakers

I want one.

But unfortunately, im a broke university student.
And then theres that dillema:
If I had the 25.000 to get the gt86, would I really get it?

I could maybe get an old 911, an elise, cayman.

So.Many. Choices.

Nope - I'd rather put that money towards a proper one.

Oh if only I knew someone who coud build such a monster...

;)

--

Bunta's Tofu

I'm starting to see quite a few here in the US but at £16k it's not surprising. In comparison a 135i (no M here yet) is £25k so in a totally different bracket. I think they look good, grey seems to be the most popular colour.

they're quite popular here in Oz. A fellow I work with is trading his 335i for a GT86 when he gets to the front of the waiting list apparently. He's 24 or something.

If I had the money, I'd be buying something used. Like the US, the m135i is in another bracket entirely ($49k vs $90-$100k)

phut said...

they're quite popular here in Oz. A fellow I work with is trading his 335i for a GT86 when he gets to the front of the waiting list apparently. He's 24 or something.

If I had the money, I'd be buying something used. Like the US, the m135i is in another bracket entirely ($49k vs $90-$100k)

NZ much the same - seen quite a few about in Auckland, but they're $42k, when that money won't even get you in a 116i.

Interestingly, it's priced more competitively against the rest of Toyota's range too - cheaper than the base Prius, about the same as a well-specced Corolla/Auris.