Forums > General > Trailer hitch advice wanted...

TRAILER HITCH ADVICE WANTED...
Previous | 1 | Next

I'm looking to fit a hitch to the old family bus (Touran). Can anyone recommend a place in the UK that fits them for reasonable money. Or should I attempt to do it myself...?!
Thanks! :)

Updated December 18, 2012 at 9:45 AM

Very easy to fit. All the mounting points for the tow bar will be on your car and if you buy a dedicated wiring loom it will plug into a socket already fitted to your car.

Like John says it's a pretty easy fit, takes about 3 hours all in even when you have captive nuts that are heavily corroded on the threads. This was with twin electrics fitting too.
For buying the towbar and electrics kit itself towequipe are the place to go, I have been using them for about 10 years and the only towbar I had trouble with didn't come from them.

Carl.

Don't do it!!! All of a sudden you'll be dragging your house behind you, badly tarmacking peoples driveways and having an unreasonable amount of Dags in your moveable home.

McSwede said...

Don't do it!!! All of a sudden you'll be dragging your house behind you, badly tarmacking peoples driveways and having an unreasonable amount of Dags in your moveable home.

Yeah, that's not going to happen EVAR!!!! That house dragging should be banned if you ask me anyway!

Thanks for your help John and Dr C!

McSwede said...

:lol::lol: It's a means to an end though, you need somewhere to kip when you are away racing the thing in my avatar.

Carl.

dudeluk said...

I'm looking to fit a hitch to the old family bus (Touran). Can anyone recommend a place in the UK that fits them for reasonable money. Or should I attempt to do it myself...?!

Pretty straightforward to fit, although some need the underside of the rear bumper trimming neatly to suit.

Some also require the removal of the bumper to actually fit the framework.