Forums > General > Bloody Student Finance *shakes fist*

BLOODY STUDENT FINANCE *SHAKES FIST*
Previous | 12 | Next

I'm currently a third year student who expects to graduate in June 2013.

I was home this weekend and recieved a letter from said company. It stated i was to start making contributions from my part time work, from April 2013 before i have graduated.

I rang up to ask why this was the case. I was told that because i had loans for two years and self funded this year, they automatically assume you have either graduated or dropped out.

I've emailed staff at uni who have said they will get me a letter stating i'm still on my course. The biggest pain is that they will send it to me and not directly to the student loans company.

The other magnificently stupid advice i was given by student finance was that i could apply again for a loan, but put £0 in all the boxes. Genius.

rant over :D

Updated December 11, 2012 at 10:07 AM

--

Do not act as if thou wert going to live ten thousand years. Death hangs over thee. While thou livest, while it is in thy power, be good.

The Student Loans Company is a terribly run outfit. My ex wanted to pay hers off in a oner and she had a nightmare with it involving all sorts of credits and over paying etc.

I do like getting my statements now though, nine years after graduating I can actually see light at the end of the tunnel in terms of when it will be paid off. Can't wait to get that monkey off my back!

--

+ Non-limited edition of the Exige 240R
- Uninspiring soundtrack

I can imagine duncs!

I've worked out that i'll be able to pay off my loan by the time i'm 23/24 depending if i can sublease my halls room to an international student!8)

--

Do not act as if thou wert going to live ten thousand years. Death hangs over thee. While thou livest, while it is in thy power, be good.

Shame you guys aren't Scottish :D.