Forums > General > Speed limit on motorways

SPEED LIMIT ON MOTORWAYS
Previous | 12 | Next

Serious question: as driving enthusiasts, what do you guys think about the speed limits on your national motorways? As a German driver, I'm always slightly confused coming to your country. Most UK motorways I've driven on compare pretty well to our German ones, yet you have a blanket speed limit where we have varying speed limits and, of course, stretches with no limits at all. I'm sure limiting speeds on busy stretches such as the ring around London makes sense, but what about quieter parts such as the M5 heading down to Exeter? It may well be that I simply travel these routes outside of peak traffic, but my impression is that, on some stretches at least, I see no actual reason for speed limiting. What do you think? Do you believe that having such limits in place at all times keeps your roads safer?

UK drivers could not, in general, handle a much higher speed limit. 80 maybe but that's about it IMO

--

and from the beginning think what may be the end.

NotHenningWehn said...

Serious question: as driving enthusiasts, what do you guys think about the speed limits on your national motorways? As a German driver, I'm always slightly confused coming to your country. Most UK motorways I've driven on compare pretty well to our German ones, yet you have a blanket speed limit where we have varying speed limits and, of course, stretches with no limits at all. I'm sure limiting speeds on busy stretches such as the ring around London makes sense, but what about quieter parts such as the M5 heading down to Exeter? It may well be that I simply travel these routes outside of peak traffic, but my impression is that, on some stretches at least, I see no actual reason for speed limiting. What do you think? Do you believe that having such limits in place at all times keeps your roads safer?